Tag Archives: Fashion Awards

CFDA Fashion Awards: ‘The Oscars of fashion’

The Council of Fashion Designers (CFDA) was founded in 1962 by Eleanor Lambert, founding mother of New York Fashion Week, Fashion designer and arguably the most important woman in American Fashion. She is said to be the woman who put American fashion on the map because before the fashion week, people only paid attention to French and Italian fashion. The CFDA is a non-profit association of over 450 prominent American Fashion designers.

The CFDA awards are given to the designers who exhibited the best works in the different categories the previous year, Designers who win are awarded for the most fashionable and innovative collections of the year. Winners are nominated and voted for by members of the CFDA and a select portion of the most prominent names in fashion including some fashion magazines, stylists and fashion retailers.

The nominees this year were announced at an exclusive event in New York City, United States of America. The event was hosted by fellow designers Diane von Furstenberg and Nadja Swarovski.

There are 8 categories, 3 of which, have their winners announced at the event. The categories where winners are announced at the event are, The International Award, awarded to the best designer who is not american. Last year it went to Rei Kawakubo a Japanese Designer. he was awarded for his ‘Commes des Garcons’ collection. Other awards include: the Emerging Talent Award for Ready to Wear and the Geoffery Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, which will be presented by Vera Wang this year. Geofferey Beene was a 4-time CFDA award winning fashion designer.

The are 3 nominated awards, whose winners will be announced at the event. The Women’s wear of the year award nominees, are Jack McCollough, Alexander Wang, Marc Jacobs and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schoeler. For the Men’s Wear of The Year Award, the nominees are Steve Cox & Daniel Silver for Duckie Brown, Michael Bastian, and Thom Browne.

Accessory Designer of the Year Award nominations got to: Phillip Lim for 3.1, Phillip Lim, Alexander Wang, Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schoeler.

The Founder’s Award, given in honour of the CFDA’s founder, Eleanor Lambert, goes to Oscar de la Renta this year. There are also the Swarovski Awards for the best jewellery designs.

The CFDA Fashion Awards this year will be held on the 3rd of June at the Lincoln Center in New York City. There will be a digital broadcast on Style.com on the 4th of June. the first broadcast event was in 2011 and was aired on Style.com as well.

For more information on the CFDA Awards visit: